10 years have run by!

Yesterday my friend Mrs.Shetty took us out to lunch. There we were, after juggling burgers and french fries, sitting in the food court,surrounded by kids and happy eating our awesome and mouth watering chola batura. I just turned my head to the left and my eyes fell upon 23 year old’s , how did i know they were 23? you just now it when you are 33 looking at 23.

Here we were in our comfotabe jeans and the ever so happy kurtas and there they were in their comfortable short capris and curvelicious tops and that made me think. What has changed in the past decade? 10 years and after a godknowshowmany ministers,buildings,roads,metros,smartphones,kids,senior citizens,kfc’s,malls,zumba classes have cropped up.

What has changed I asked myself (aloud this time) in the morning, as i was calling Mrs.Jain. Asking her recipe for Chilla for breakfast. 

1. That has definitely changed, when i was 23 I never called up anyone and  never has to ask anyone on how to make chilla or upma or idli or poori or for that matter breakfast. Now all i think of  and see clearly in front of my eyes early in the morning in BIG, BOLD RED LETTERS is this word BREAKFAST?

WEEKEND

2. That word does not make any difference to me anymore. When i was 23 that W word was a big thing. After slogging my butt off at work, my friends would plan the weekend on Monday. We would get up when we please,eat what we please, yespleasegetdrunk.Decide which pub to hit and what book to read on a lazy Sunday morning. Now it is the same day of the week,every day of the week. The only thing that i think that has changed is, I have a hubby and 2 kids and a maid to cook for and to look after. Even if V and I want to plan or go out,we would wonder how to manipulate the children and make them think that parents can disappear like magic and appear anytime,anywhere.

SILENCE

3. Silence, the court is in session! that were very random dialogue in movies. But now, i want someone like that in my house.Some one who can announce, Silence,D is in session(which can be anything right from reading,to bathroom time,to me sitting in the front room and staring at the peeling wall) When I was 23 I had earned my right to silence. I was no longer at my parents house. I lived in my own place and that was a boon. We room mates could just…shush the other person and say ” i need space and silence” and they would understand. No one would go non stop, deethi why are you silent,what is wrong,what is being silent mean?. How can i be silent and when the little one screaming his arse off in the background, the  maid asking me what is the difference between butter and cheese and the plumber telling me “madam ji, you bathroom flush is old and you need to change it, so givemethemoneynow,or i will not leave this door until i savetheplanet and earnmyself some money from you……..so on and so forth….SILENCE.

Yes there is a huge change in body,mind and soul from 23 to 33. However would i change something or anything? nah, bring on the multitasking breed of 33 out and enzay(which means enjoy)

3 thoughts on “10 years have run by!

  1. Sandy says:

    So very true Deepthi. But i do wish sometimes to go back to those 20 something days, without the smartphones, tablets, and internet pn the go… I want to go back to that bullet of mine an relatively less crowded roads in Hyderabad… I want to go back to those rare coffee shops on road no x jhills near the checkpost…. I want to go back to those rare BnCs…. I want to go back to those rare online communities like ryze orkut etcc…

Leave a Reply

